Draw a Blank

I was inspired this morning by an article I read, rather quickly glanced through, about the impact of a blank business card. This article, posted on Lifehacker and written by Melanie Pinola, describes CJ Chilvers choice to carry blank business cards with him everywhere because it offers the receiver a more personal impact than the over-glossed brand badge provided by your employer. I was even more struck by this  because I have recently ordered personal business cards with merely my twitter handle and personal contact info on it to acheive the very same purpose. However Mr. Chilvers takes this to a whole new level, one I was motivated to achieve this very afternoon.

So while I was running errands today, I planned to stop by a local printer and order a stack of elegantly blank business card stock, when I realized, it’s almost as easy and far more instantaneously gratifying if I make them myself. So off the Staples it was! Almost imediately after arriving with all hopes of picking up some sheets of  “print it yourself” business card stock from Avery, I realized that the paper included was no thicker than normal printer paper; this is neither original nor peronal and looks cheap. So I left and headed over to Dick  Blick Art Supplies next door where I paced down the paper isle to find the perfect weight and texture in watercolor art pads. For less thatn $10, I picked up a pad of paper used for water color painting and a knife  and  make my way home. With some patience and a steady hand, I was able to knock out 100 blank business cards in under an hour, using my company card as a template. The entire pad of paper should yield about 150 cards. assuming I don’t screw any of them up.

Now, rather than giving out company business cards with my work contact information, I can make the interaction a lot more personal and a little more artistic. Of course I still plan to order a supply of blank cards but this method will work if you’re in a pinch or like to make things yourself rather than just buying them. This is also a great way to hand out your contact info if you’re currently unemployed – just make sure you bring a pen with you!

Cheers!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Draw a Blank

  1. Hey! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up
    for the nice information you could have right here on this post.
    I shall be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

